Has the women's soccer cup always existed?

By: Marcus Vinicius

When talking about football, it is usually the men's sport that comes to mind. But the truth is that women also have their history in football – and it is longer than you might think. In this article, we'll take a look at the evolution of the women's soccer cup over the years and how it got to where it is today.
The history of the women's football cup can be traced back to 1913, when the first official competition was held in England. However, the game has been played by women since the 19th century. The sport's popularity among women only grew from the 1970s onwards, when more countries began to hold their own national and international tournaments.

women in football

Women's soccer emerged in the United States in the 1890s, but only gained strength around the world in the 1920s. In Brazil, the first official championship was played only in 1971, and the Brazilian team only participated in the first World Cup. Women's World in 1991.

Despite still being a predominantly male sport, women's football has gained more and more space and visibility in recent years. In 2015, the Brazilian team won the Copa America Feminina, and the following year, played in the final of the Women's World Cup for the first time in history.

Women have demonstrated that they can be just as competent as men when it comes to football, and more and more clubs and fans are supporting women's sport. We hope this trend continues and that women's football continues to grow!

The first women's world cup

The first women's football world cup was held in 1991 in China. There were 8 participating teams and the final was played between China and Norway. China won 2-0.

Since then, the women's football world cup has been held every 4 years. The Brazilian team debuted in the women's world cup in 1995, in Uruguay, where it was in 5th place.

South America has already hosted the women's world cup twice: in 1999, at the Centenario Stadium, in Montevideo (Uruguay), and in 2003, at the Maracanã Stadium, in Rio de Janeiro (Brazil).
The Brazilian women's football team is one of the most successful in the world, with 5 Copa America titles (including the 2016 and 2018 editions), 7 of the Copa Sudamericana, 1 of the Under-20 World Cup and 1 of the Olympics ( in the year 2004).

However, the team has yet to lift the women's football world cup. The best campaign was in 2007, when it ranked 2nd.

women's world cup

Has the women's football world cup always existed?

Many people still don't know, but the first women's football world cup took place in 1991. At that time, the tournament was called the FIFA Women's World Cup and was played in China.

Since then, the women's world cup has been held every four years and has had several editions played. The Brazilian team has achieved some good results over the years, but has yet to lift the cup. However, this does not mean that women's football in Brazil is not evolving. In recent years, we have witnessed a considerable growth of the sport in the country and more and more women are becoming interested in soccer.

History of the Women's World Cup

The first Women's Football World Cup was held in China in 1991. It was a friendly competition involving eight nations and Germany was the champion. The idea for creating the cup came from the president of the International Women's Football Federation (FIFA), currently known as the Brazilian Football Confederation (CBF), Nora Laudano.

The second edition of the Women's World Cup took place four years later, always in the United States. There were 12 participating teams and Norway was crowned champion after beating China in the final. The third and fourth editions were held in China, in 1999 and 2003, respectively. Germany won the title again in 1999,

From the fifth edition, the Women's Football World Cup started to be held every four years, as with the men's version. Germany were crowned champions for the third consecutive time in 2007, but suffered an upset at the hands of the United States in the final of the 2011 edition, which was also held in the United States. Brazil ranked fourth in this edition.

In the 2015 Women's World Cup, in Canada, the Brazilian team fell in the quarterfinals to Germany. The champion was the North American team, which beat Japan in the grand final. 


Throughout history, women's football has been the subject of much discrimination and prejudice. However, the women's soccer cup has always existed and continues to exist, despite the difficulties faced by the players.

Despite advances, women's football still faces several problems, such as lack of visibility and low investment by federations. However, the players do not give up and continue fighting for the sport to be increasingly valued.
As we have seen, women's football has a lot of history to tell and many conquests still to achieve. We hope that this text has clarified some doubts on the subject and contributed to your knowledge of women's football.

After all, did you like to know more about? Tell us here in the comments and
don't forget to share with your friends and family.

Want to know more about it? Enter our blog and find more


What was the first world cup ball like?


Weren't there cards at football games?

premium WordPress plugins